Spike Down

“Yes, I got chosen,” I said when I got the email that I got on the Texas youth hunt. My dad and I packed up and we were off.

When we finally got there we went to a blind early in the morning. In about 5 minutes, we saw a doe walk up. I took my 270 rifle out of the corner of the blind and get him in my sights about to shoot him. Then the deer ran, and I wondered what spooked him…and then I see a monster 15 point buck walk to the feeder. “I wish I could shoot him,” I told my dad, but the land owner won’t let me.

We didn’t see anything else ,so we went to the house and rested until night.

Yes, it’s 5:00, time to go to the blind. We get in the car and drive to the blind. When we finally get there it was not long until we saw 6 gobblers walk up. Too bad it’s not turkey season, I thought.

The gobblers are gone now and I see something else now– a deer! A spike! I take my gun and put it in my hands. I am shaking furiously and nervous, but then I calm down, squeeze the trigger, and BANG! The deer spewed blood from his side, ran about 15 yards, stopped, then dropped.

20140513-105235.jpg

2 thoughts on “Spike Down

  1. I’d like to hear more about this Texas Youth Hunt…sounds interesting…also about why the 15 point buck was off limits.

    Sounds like you had a great experience. Good job with your narration–showing your excitement!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *